Legislative Analysis Competition organised by PRS

Analysis 2010 is being organised by PRS Legislative Research is a Delhi-based research initiative hosted at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi. Our work focuses on providing research support to MPs on all key Bills pending in Parliament. PRS works with the objective of making the legislative process more transparent, informed and participatory. We have interacted with over 250 MPs across 22 political parties.

To facilitate greater awareness generation and engagement of the youth, PRS conceptualised a legislative analysis competition – Analysis. Being organized for the fourth year in succession, Analysis is a national-level competition that encourages students to reflect on issues of national importance by analysing a proposed government Bill. Participants are expected to produce a succinct three-page analysis of the Bill with MPs as the target audience.

Entries will be evaluated by an eminent panel of judges from the fields of politics, law and the media. In the past years judges have included Justice Ruma Pal (former judge at the Supreme Court), Justice Y. K. Sabharwal (former Chief Justice of India), and Prof. N.R. Madhava Menon (Member – Commission on Centre State Relations).

The last date for submission is September 5, 2010. In addition to prize money, the winners will be invited to the annual PRS Conference on Effective Legislatures to be held in New Delhi.

Should you need any additional clarifications, please do not hesitate to contact Anirudh Burman at 011-41048021, or at [email protected]. For further details please go to the ANALYSIS 2010 page on the PRS website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.