SpicyIP Tidbits: Prime Minister Gives Green Signal to National Innovation Council

Just after Independence Day, on 16th August 2010, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh gave a green signal for setting up a National Innovation Council to prepare a road map for the ‘Decade of Innovation 2010-2020’. Satyanarayan Gangaram Pitroda popularly known as telecom czar Sam Pitroda, adviser to the prime minister on public information infrastructure and innovations, will head the National Innovation Council.

The Hindu’s report of the same can be read over here.

The Council has been given the mandate to evolve an Indian model of innovation focusing on inclusive growth and creating an appropriate ecosystem conducive to fostering inclusive innovation .

It will take special efforts to facilitate innovation by micro, small, and medium enterprises. It will also promote the setting up of Sectoral Innovation Councils and State Innovation Councils. Innovation in public services delivery and encouraging multi-disciplinary and globally competitive approaches for innovations would be focused on by the council.

The National Innovation Council would have as its members:
Dr. K. Kasturirnagan and Shri Arun Maira, Members of the Planning Commission,
Dr. Ramesh Mashelkar, Former Director General of CSIR,
Shri Kiran Karnik, former President, NASSCOM,
Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty of the Narayana Hrudyalaya,
Shri R. Gopalakishnan, Executive Director, Tata Sons,
Ms Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Chairperson, Biocon,
Shri Shekhar Kapur, Film Director,
Shri Saurabh Srivastava, Chairman, CA Technologies,
Shri Anil K. Gupta, Professor IIM Ahmedabad,
Prof. Sujatha Ramadorai, Professor, TIFR,
Shri Chandrajit Banerjee, Director General, CII,
Shri Amit Mitra, Secretary General, FICCI,
Dr. Samir Brahmachari, Director General, CSIR
Shri Sanjay Dhande, Director, IIT Kanpur,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.