A Warm Welcome to our new SpicyIP Fellows for 2015-2016!

spicyIP_logo_highres copy

We’re very happy to announce the results of the third edition of our SpicyIP Fellowship programme for the year 2015-2016! From over 40 submissions in the last few weeks, 22 were selected for publication on the blog. The criteria for selection included topic choice, research, analysis, clarity and language skills. The year long Fellowship begins on February 1st, 2015 and runs on till January 31st, 2016.

The competition was stiff, with six candidates making it to our finalists list. After due consideration, we’re happy to announce we’ve invited the following four candidates to be our SpicyIP Fellows for the year 2015-2016. In no particular order, they are:

  • Arundathi Venkataraman: 4th year, National Law University, Jodhpur. Arundathi sent us the following three posts:

1. GI for Yoga? (De)Merits and Consequences
2. Are Copyrights in Logos considered Trademarks for the Purpose of Taxation?
3. Garcia v. Google: Opening a Can of Worms?


  • Balaji Subramanian: 2nd year, Nalsar University of law, Hyderabad. Balaji sent us the following four posts:

1. Questioning the Fallacy of a Closed-Access TKDL
2. Barriers to Recognition and Unheeded Warnings: The TKDL Saga
3. Military Hardware and Trademarks
4. Open Source Killing Machines: From Russia With Love


  • Kiran Mary George: 2nd year, Indian Law Society’s Law College, Pune. Kiran sent us the following four posts:

1. The iPhone v iFon conflict
2. The Smell Mark Conundrum
3. Of Recipes and Patents
4. The Murky World of Fan Fiction and Copyright


  • Kartik Chawla: 3rd year, Nalsar University of Law, Hyderabad. Kartik sent us the following three posts:

1. Innovation in the time of SEPs & FRAND licensing
2. The Fault in our Intermediary Liability Laws
3. Online Piracy – The Way Forward?


The other two finalists included Aabhas Kshetarpal, a 4th year student from NLU-Jodhpur, and Atharva Sontakke, a 3rd year student from GNLU. Both of them sent in great posts as well. You can view Aabhas’ entries here and Atharva’s entries here. (Note: Aabhas later withdrew his application).

We’d like to extend our gratitude to everyone who participated in the third edition of our Fellowship and contributed with their submissions. And of course, we’d like to give a big hearty welcome to our four new SpicyIP Fellows for 2015-2016! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.