Consilience 2016 – Updated Schedule!

Due to an error on our part, an out-dated version of the Schedule was uploaded on to the Consilience 2016 website. The Schedule has now been updated on the website, and has also been uploaded onto the SpicyIP website here. We apologise for any inconvenience or confusion caused by this.

We have also added further details to the website, so do check it out! And of course, please do register.

For easy access, the final Schedule is also available below.


Day I


2. Welcome Address (9.30 am)

Prof Venkata Rao (Vice Chancellor, NLS)

2. Other Welcome Address (9.40 am to 10.20 am)

Prof Shamnad Basheer (SpicyIP)

Prof Ramakrishna (MHRD IP Chair, NLS)

Aditya Singh Chawla (Convenor, Law and Technology Society, NLS)

3. Keynote Address (10.30 am to 11.10 am)

“Open Innovation Cartography: Building an Inclusive and Transparent IP Ecosystem”

Prof Richard Jefferson (Founder, Cambia and Professor, Queensland University of Technology [QUT])

Tea Break (11.10 am to 11.25)

4. Special Address (11.30 am to 11.50 am)

Justice Ravindra Bhat


Duration: 11.50 am to 5.45 pm

 1. From Software (OSS) to Drug Discovery (OSDD): 11.50 am to 1.20 pm

Mishi Choudhary (SFLC)

Venkatesh Hariharan (i-Spirt)

Dr Tanjore Balganesh (Open Source Pharma Foundation)

Moderator (TBD)

Lunch Break: 1.20 pm to 2.20 pm

2. Open Access Music Video (by SpicyIP): 2.20 pm to 2.30 pm

3. Open Standards and Licensing (SEP issues): 2.30 pm to 4.00 pm

Rajiv Choudhary (IP lawyer)

Sunil Abraham (CIS)

Prof Yogesh Pai (NLU Delhi)

Prof Natasha Nayak (Jindal)

Moderator: Prof Ramakrishna (MHRD IP Chair, NLS)

Tea Break: 4.00 pm to 4.15 pm

4. Compulsory Licensing and a Compensatory Commons: 4.15 pm to 5.45 pm

Prof Srividya Ragavan (Texas A&M University)

Jayashree Watal (WTO)

Dilip Shah (Indian Pharmaceuticals Alliance)

Prof Vivekanandan (NALSAR)

Moderator: Prof Shamnad Basheer (Founder, SpicyIP)

Dinner: 7 pm onwards (sponsored by Texas A&M University)

Day II


Duration: 10.00 am to 11.30 am

Lawrence Liang (Founder, ALF)

Prof Dev Gangjee (University of Oxford)

Prof Arul Scaria (NLU Delhi)

Prof Shubha Ghosh (Syracuse University)

Moderator: Swaraj P Barooah (Editor in Chief, SpicyIP)

Tea break: 11.30 am to 11.45 am


(Transparency in IP, Open Patent data, Open IP Policy etc)

Duration: 11.45 am to 1.15 pm

Prof (Dr) Richard Jefferson (Cambia and Prof, Queensland University of Technology)

GR Raghavender (Joint Secretary, DIPP, Ministry of Commerce)

Prashant Reddy (IP Consultant)

Prof Prashant Iyengar (Jindal)

Open Access IP Dictionary (Presentation by team of Nirma University/SpicyIP)

Moderator: TBD

LUNCH: 1.15 pm to 2.15 pm

SESSION V: FUTURE OF THE COMMONS (Opportunities and Challenges)

Duration: 2.30 pm to 4.30 pm

Panel Discussion

Zakir Thomas (Former Director, OSDD)

Dr Tabrez Ahmed (Director, UPES, Dehradun)

Murali Neelakantan (IP Consultant)

Arun Mohan (IP lawyer)

Sunita Sreedharan (IP Lawyer)

Moderator: TBD

Tea Break: 4.30 pm to 4.45 pm


4.45 pm to 5.15 pm


5.15 pm to 5.45 pm




About The Author

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top